We use the statutory Early Years Foundation Stage Framework as a guide to the curriculum we offer. The EYFS Framework builds on the early learning that begins at home and prepares them for more formal learning in Key Stage 1 of the National Curriculum. The EYFS Framework is inclusive and respects each unique child, emphasises the importance of positive relationships and an enabling environment, and acknowledges that children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates. The curriculum will be specifically tailored to ensure it is accessible to all children, including those identified as having special educational needs and/or disabilities.

The EYFS curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning which includes the following:

Prime Areas (developed first)

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas (building on the prime areas)

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

In addition, the curriculum offer enables children to develop the Characteristics of Effective Learning (the skills needed to become life-long learners) which includes:

Playing and exploring – engagement

  • Finding out and exploring
  • Playing with what they know
  • Being willing to ‘have a go’

Active learning – motivation

  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Keeping trying
  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and thinking critically – thinking

  • Having their own ideas
  • Making links
  • Choosing ways to do things

Click HERE to view the Nursery Autumn Term curriculum overview.

Click HERE to view the Reception Autumn Term curriculum overview.

Click HERE to view the Nursery Spring Term curriculum overview.

Click HERE to view the Reception Spring Term curriculum overview.

Our EYFS intent, implementation and impact statement can be found here